Sehr langes, cooles Whedon-Interview

Drüben bei IGN via dollhousetvforum. Es geht um alles und jeden, basically, aber hier meine (Spoiler-freien) Highlights. (Obwohl der Rest, der dort, als Spoiler markiert ist, auch den Namen nicht wirklich verdient, für die, die die Prämisse und Charakterbeschreibungen kennen.)

Question: Would you say TV is still the kinder medium to writers?

Whedon: Yes it is. It absolutely is. I love movies though, I do. They're part of my DNA.


Sehr schön finde ich die folgende Antwort, wegen Negativität, ne:

Question: Your fans are very protective of you. Some of them heard "midseason" and there was a bit of, "The sky is falling! FOX is going to screw him again!" What do you say to those concerns?

Whedon: Well, you know, I get it. I understand that and I feel bad because I want to be able to explain, without sounding like an apologist, that it doesn't work the way it used to. The winter is prime time for FOX. Firefly came out in the fall, had to fight baseball, and lost. FOX has always been incredibly supportive of [Dollhouse], and they also said, "Well, you haven't finished it. These guys [at Fringe] have finished theirs." And we were gunning for winter. We were like, "We hope we get January, because we want American Idol time, not baseball time." Not to say that they're not supporting Fringe, it's just that either one works for different reasons. I like the idea of making my episodes before they go out – it's how we did Buffy and it worked great for us. But yeah, for some people it has the stink of midseason, when in fact the whole concept of the season is deteriorating. So we're going up with the premiere of 24.


Some nice Tahmoh Penikett-Schmeicheleien (die ich als BSG-Hasser wirklich nur wegen dem erwähnten Buch und der Fillion-Erwähnung am Ende super fand... :) :

Question: I know you're a big Battlestar fan. Was it great for you to get to work with Tahmoh Penikett?

Whedon: I'm gonna go out on a limb here and tell the truth – I've had a man-crush on Tahmoh since the first episode of Battlestar.

Question: From the moment he stayed behind on Caprica?

Whedon: I had a feeling about him. I just had a feeling about him. I know, he gave up his seat to Baltar! Not bright, but cute! But no, he just has a presence. Tim Minear watched the dailies and he said, "I can't believe you found this guy. This guy is so hard to find. A leading man that has a real soulfulness and a real unique quality" and I just felt that from Battlestar, and he brought it completely [to Dollhouse]. When I spoke to him, he was the first person to mention Never Let Me Go, the novel, just from hearing the premise of Dollhouse. The beautiful sadness of that novel so suffuses what we're trying to do, and it was so beautiful when he brought it up that I just knew this guy [was right]. And it follows my rule with Nathan [Fillion]. Hire a Canadian! They're gentlemen and they're very tall.


Dann, a big damn question. Der Langzeitplan:

Question: If you do six years of this show, do you know the end?

Whedon: I don't know the end zone, because you've got to leave that up to the viewers to an extent, but I know the arenas. When I pitched the show, I said, "Here's the pilot, here are the characters, here's episode six and sort of what we do every week and here's the first two years, second two years, third two years." So yes, because the show has to progress. Especially a show like this, where while it's a week to week show – she'll go on a different engagement every week and it'll have a complete story – like Buffy, ultimately what people will become invested in is the arcs of the characters. You cannot just hit reset. Somebody, I forget who and I apologize to them in advance, but somebody said, "Scully was pretty much like a doll that they imprinted and she kept forgetting that there might be monsters." You can't do that. You have to let them grow. So I said, "The first arc is this, the second arc is this, the third is this." There's room for change though, but they know I have a five year plan and that's important.


Cooool! Und zu Abschluss:

Question: So this is a profitable operation?

Whedon: Yes. But where the money is going is something we haven't talked about.

Trackback URL:
https://dollhouse.twoday.net/stories/4953752/modTrackback

About

Dollhouse


Giving people what they need


Dollhouse, Joss Whedons neue TV-Serie, darf nach einer tollen ersten Staffel nochmal ran. Ich blogge darüber.

> Episodenführer

Hey there! This an Austrian fanblog celebrating the new Joss Whedon TV show Dollhouse. Yeah, German language, I know: What did I think of? But if You look down below, there's plenty of yummy Dollhouse-info in English hidden behind the various links in the links section.

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog

Dollhousetvforum

Whedonesque

Aktuelle Beiträge

John
you are in point of fact a just right webmaster. The...
Smithe759 (Gast) - 27. Juli, 10:49
John
I am really enjoying the themedesign of your blog....
Smithe290 (Gast) - 28. Juni, 10:35
John
I appreciate, cause I discovered just what I used to...
Smithg674 (Gast) - 27. Juni, 09:19
John
Over the course of the initial period, they began to...
Smithd118 (Gast) - 8. Juni, 12:32
John
Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and...
Smithb227 (Gast) - 7. Juni, 12:01

Twitter

Status

Online seit 5899 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 15. Juli, 02:09

Statcounter


Add to Technorati Favorites

Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren